GIVE A GOSPEL CAMPAIGN

Dear Parishioners

Pope Francis has declared October 2019 as an Extraordinary Mission Month, a month in which the whole Church is invited to revive her missionary awareness and commitment.

In the Encyclical Letter Redemptoris Missio, Pope Saint John Paul II wrote: “The number of those who do not know Christ and do not belong to the Church is constantly on the increase… When we consider this immense portion of humanity which is loved by the Father and for whom he sent his Son, the urgency of the Church’s mission is obvious.” (Redemptoris Missio, 3)

What is Mission? Basically it is to let others know and experience Jesus Christ: “The Church’s fundamental function in every age and particularly in ours is to direct man’s gaze, to point the awareness and experience of the whole of humanity towards the mystery of God, to help all men to be familiar with the profundity of the Redemption taking place in Christ Jesus.” (Redemptor Hominis, 10)

What can we, members of Ss. Peter and Paul Church, do, so that the number of those who know Jesus Christ and belong to the Church will increase? On occasion of this Extraordinary Mission Month, our Parish will hold a campaign called GIVE A GOSPEL. Its purpose will be to let non-Christians, through the reading of the Book of the Gospels, get to know the mystery of God´s love for all, revealed in the life and the words of his Son Jesus, which are found in the Gospels. This can become a great contribution to the spreading of Jesus’ words. Only He can speak Words of Eternal Life.

How can you participate? It is simple: by giving the book of the Four Gospels (in Chinese) to a non-Christian person.

If you know any non-Christian person who can read Chinese, and may benefit from your gift, please consider joining this meaningful campaign by filling out the form.

God bless you

Rev. Gervais Baudry, IVE

Parish Priest

傳送福音書運動

親愛的兄弟姊妹,

教宗方濟各宣布2019年10月為「特別傳教月」,這個月整個教會被邀請履行她的傳教責任和承諾。

教宗聖若望保祿二世在「救主的使命通諭」中寫道:「那些不認識基督和不屬於教會的人數持續增加… 當我們考慮到聖父所愛並為它派遣其聖子的人類這一廣大部份,教會傳教使命的迫切性是顯然易見的。」 (「救主的使命」通諭, 3) 」

什麼是「福傳」?基本上,「福傳」就是要讓別人認識及體驗耶穌基督:「教會在每一個時代,尤其在我們這一時代的主要任務,是指點人的思想,引導整個人類的意識和體驗朝向天主的奧蹟,幫助人在日常生活中深深覺察到在耶穌基督內所完成的救贖。同時,人的最深處──即人的心靈,良知和事件──也捲入此奧蹟中」 (「人類救主」通諭, 10)

那麼,我們身為聖伯多祿聖保祿堂的教友,可以做些什麼去讓更多人認識耶穌基督呢?在這個「特別傳教月」內,堂區將舉辦「傳送福音書運動」。其目的是讓非基督徒透過閱讀「福音」去揭示耶穌的一生及接觸基督的說話,從而讓他們認識天主「愛的奧秘」。 藉此運動為廣傳耶穌的福音作出貢獻。

怎樣參加?辦法很簡單:只要將四部「福音書」贈送給非基督徒。

如果您認識任何能夠閱讀中文及希望能從您所贈與的福音書中獲益的非基督徒, 請你填寫表格參加這個有意義的福傳活動。

天主保佑!

主任司鐸 包俊偉神父